St Patrick’s was formed in October of 1971 the primary aim of its founders was  to give all age groups of boys and young men from Donagh and the surrounding  areas the opportunity to play GAA games at the highest level and in the best  facilities available and hopefully win as many major honours as possible  especially the Fermanagh senior championship.

We all are in some ways carrying  on the dreams and aspirations of such great men as the late Paddy Foster (on left below) who was our first chairman, and the late Arthur Melarkey (on right) our first secretary.

paddyfoster arthurmelarkey

Other  founder members who formed the first committee included, Michael Mc Manus, Brian  O Hanlon, Frank Mc Elroy, John Cadden. The Rev PJ Duffy and Rev L Lynch were the  first presidents.

In the early years Paddy Foster was the driving force and inspiration in the  club, he hoped that one day St Pats would have a senior team capable of beating  the best not only in Fermanagh but Ulster and indeed All Ireland. He, who  expressed an opinion that we should build our own Croke Park in Donagh. This  providing our players with playing facilities equal to anywhere in Ireland.

The current committee is working hard to bring the club to the stages in its  development by building a stand on the pitch and providing new changing rooms  for visiting clubs.


The St Patrick’s Ladies Club was founded with the whole-hearted support of our men’s club. In the spring of 1993 Denise Maguire with a few other girls were seen having a kick about on the Louis Leonard Memorial Park. As a result of this a sideline discussion led to a meeting taking place of ladies in the Donagh/Knocks area in the St Pat’s GAA clubrooms on 13th May chaired by Bridie Leonard with Sean Maguire present from our men’s club. The first officers elected were chairperson- Joanne McGrade, Vice chairperson- Denise Maguire, Secretary- Monica Boyle, Assistant Secretary- Linda Treacy, Treasure- Martina O’Reilly, Assistant Treasurer- Mandy McCaffery, Referees- Mickey McGrade, Cathal Rehill, Paddy Boyle, Seamus McMahon and Eugene Cadden. The county board delegates were Monica Boyle and Ellen Leonard who attended their first County Board meeting 17th May.

Our first training session had a large attendance under the coaching of Sean Maguire and Paddy Boyle. Our first training T-shirts and kit bags were sponsored by United Friendly through Martin Carey. This prepared us for our first league game at Senior level played on home ground under the management of Jimmy Heaney against Cleenish on 27th June at 7pm wearing the jerseys of red and white generously sponsored by Bradshaw taxis. Our first championship outing was against Tempo in Maguiresbridge where we were defeated. But with heads held high it was back to the drawing board. We organised the first under-age county blitz. The P.Armitage Memorial Cup played on the 3rd October was the foundation for underage football in the county with 9 teams within the county participating. Cleenish, worthy winners, presented with medals sponsored by Eileen Magee where greatly appreciated. Our under-14 team jersey’s sponsored by Sean Connolly butchers were a credit to our small community.

On 8th May 1994 our club was presented a memorial cup following the tragic death of fellow Gaels, Louis Leonard and Karen Maguire. This was to be used for the future development of Ladies football.
Our club progressed to achieve, under the careful management of Eugene Cadden and Jimmy Heaney; an excellent fought Minor Championship title in Irvinestown against Cleenish on the 10th September 1995.

Our Senior Ladies went on to claim the O’Harte cup for two consecutive years in 1997 and 1998. In 1999 we elected founder member Bridie Leonard as Honorary President and later County President. Our excellent club facilities have been host to Fermanagh and Ulster Championship finals as well as an All-Ireland camogie final. over the years we have had excellent representation of our club at County Inter-provisional, Schools and Colleges. Our underage players Sabrina Barrett and Danielle McDermott made their debut at Ladies All Ireland Final Day at Croke Park 2003.

Off the field our delegates took executive positions on the County Board Ulster and Central Council
Kate Mulligan – Fixtures Committee – 1994
Monica Boyle – Registrar – 1995-1997